Deutsch
Fran├žais
Italiano

Dialectometry

On this page you will find interactive dialectometric visualizations for the linguistic domains of Italian (and Rhaeto-Romance), French and British English. The visualizations are based on digital representations and calculations of the Salzburg dialectometry team around Prof. Hans Goebl.

The dialectometric visualizations for the Swiss-German dialect area can be found here.

Basics of dialectometry

Dialectometry (DM) is concerned with finding hidden (ie underlying) structures in geolinguistic networks that are as high-ranking as possible. It is assumed that the dialectal interaction in space is carried out in a law-conform and not chaotic way: see the theorem of "basilectal management of space by man", which is a supporting pillar of the Salzburg-DM.

From an empirical point of view, the DM works primarily with data from linguistic atlases, since these have generally been collected according to a uniform measurement scheme and thus contain intercomparable data.

From a methodological point of view, the Salzburg DM has a numerical and a cartographic (visual) pillar. In numerical terms, the methods of Salzburg-DM have been borrowed from those of "Numerical Classification" and "Quantitative Geography"; in cartographic terms, the focus is on the target-oriented use of all methods used in the field of quantitative and computer-aided cartography. In both cases, care was and is always taken to select methods that fit to the needs of geolinguistics (or linguistic geography).

In addition to the spatial distribution of dialectal similarities and distances, the DM is also interested in the quantitative recording (and subsequent visualization) of the small and large scale interaction between greater dialect domains, whereby these are understood as higher ranking typologically relevant constructs.

The Salzburg DM methods can also be applied to diachronically relevant data. It is also possible to process (in numerical and graphical way) successfully extra-linguistic data with VDM, provided that their basic structure corresponds to that of linguistic atlases.

Links

http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dialektometrie
http://www.dialectometry.com/
http://www.dialectometry.com/dmdocs/index.html
Publications of the Salzburg DM group: http://www.sbg.ac.at/rom/people/prof/goebl/dm_publi.htm

Hans Goebl, 2.11.2019

Deutsch
English
Italiano

Dialectométrie

Sur cette page vous trouverez des visualisations dialectométriques interactives pour les domaines linguistiques de l’italien (avec le rhéto-roman), le français et l’anglais de Grande-Bretagne. Les visualisations sont basées sur les données empiriques et les calculs numériques de l'équipe de dialectométrie de Salzbourg autour du professeur Hans Goebl.

Les visualisations dialectométriques pour le domaine dialectal suisse-allemand se trouvent ici.

Principes de bases de la dialectométrie

La dialectométrie (DM) vise à la détection de structures de profondeur qui sous-tendent tous les réseaux géolinguistiques. La DM de Salzbourg présuppose que l’interaction géolinguistique réalisée dans l’espace obéit – loin d’être chaotique - à certaines lois linguistiques préétablies. Voir à ce sujet le théorème salzbourgeois de la « gestion basilectale de l’espace par l’Homo loquens».

D'un point de vue empirique, la DM travaille avant tout avec des données provenant d'atlas linguistiques classiques, car ceux-ci ont généralement été collectés dans une forme standardisée et contiennent donc des données intercomparables.

D'un point de vue méthodique, la DM de Salzbourg possède un pilier quantitatif et un pilier cartographique (visuel). Quant au quantitatif, les méthodes de la DM de Salzbourg ont été empruntées à celles de la "Classification numérique" et de la "Géographie quantitative" ; quant à la visualisation des calculs effectués, l'accent est mis sur une utilisation ciblée des méthodes utilisées au sein de la cartographie quantitative (assistée par ordinateur). Dans les deux cas, la DM de Salzbourg vise toujours à se servir uniquement de méthodes adaptées aux besoins de la géographie linguistique (géolinguistique).

Mis à part la distribution spatiale des ressemblanes (similarités) et distances dialectales, la DM s'intéresse également à l'analyse quantitative (et à la visualisation ultérieure des résultats numériques) de l'interaction à petite et grande échelle entre différents domaines dialectaux majeurs, qui sont considérés comme des entités typologiquement pertinentes et ontologiquement supérieures.

Les méthodes de la DM de Salzbourg peuvent également être appliquées à des données géolinguistiques d’ordre diachronique. Il est également possible de traiter - avec les routines numériques et graphiques du programme VDM – des données extra-linguistiques, à condition que leur structure de base corresponde à celle des atlas linguistiques proprement dits.

Liens

http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dialektometrie
http://www.dialectometry.com/
http://www.dialectometry.com/dmdocs/index.html
Publications du groupe salzbourgeois de dialectométrie: http://www.sbg.ac.at/rom/people/prof/goebl/dm_publi.htm

Hans Goebl, 2.11.2019